I can’t feel at home in this world anymore!

This morning, early, when i had to pack up after the doorbell rang, i paniked.  I asked God why.  I didn’t understand why, but i did know that unlike some friends of ours, we had time to pack some things before the fire caption would ask us to leave.  I thanked God for the time we were blessed  with and told God that even if we would loose everything like our friends did, that He would help us through.  Help us to trust Him that we would completely rely on Him.  That He would be number one, not our possessions.

Thank you God for waking the neighbours, and that they could wake us.  Thanks for watching over the men handling the fire until the trucks took over.  Thanks for the garden hose that was just long enough.  Thanks for giving me a new perspective on all that we own.  Thanks for showing me how to trust you completely.

After the fire was out and just a few trees were damaged, i thanked God.   I couldn’t stop.  It has now given me a new joy in the Lord.  A song that my mother sometimes sings came to me,

This world is not my home I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

(Is there any recorded version that i can listen to?  I can’t find it in any of our song books)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inspiredbrio.wordpress.com/2008/05/20/i-cant-feel-at-home-in-this-world-anymore/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love this song.


Leave a Reply

